The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

See you in 2015

Hello Everyone,

I’m sorry for the lack of new content and for my radio silence.  Up here in the Cape York Peninsula, my internet capabilities are crippled.  My girlfriend and I are stuck using her phone as a wi-fi hotspot and the signal is temperamental at best.  Sending e-mails is a chore most of the time and sometimes the internet simply isn’t up to it.

I’m doing pretty well up here.  I’m working a very physical job and spending most of my free time swimming around waterfalls and creeks or driving through the bush to get to new waterfalls and creeks.  Life has taken on a pleasant kind of monotony much of the time, and when the darkness looms it rarely gets a chance to settle on me for very long.  I miss my family and friends back in the U.K and I miss my friends on the tablelands way more than I could have predicted.  I also miss speaking with and learning from you all.  Within the next week or so I find out where we move to next but the good news is that wherever we move to – the internet will be significantly better and regular service will be resumed.

I’m not abandoning this blog or my correspondence with any of you but until we transfer out of here I’m afraid I won’t be able to do much more than intermittently e-mail.

Apologies again for the lack of communication – when we reconnect with civilisation I’ll be back with a vengeance.

All the best,

H&J

14 comments on “See you in 2015

  1. JoAnne Silvia
    14/09/2014

    Thanks for the update! Waterfalls, creeks and bush sound delightfully adventurous.Take care, and write when you can.

    Like

  2. glenn2point0
    14/09/2014

    Sounds beautiful up there. Thanks for the heads up! Take care H&J. Cheers, Glenn

    Like

  3. Marie Abanga
    14/09/2014

    gosh men, I almost had a panic attack wondering where you were lost to:) take care men and hugs to you missus 🙂

    Like

  4. Missed you! Glad you’re well, and looking forward to you being back with a vengeance 🙂

    Like

  5. Penticular
    14/09/2014

    Success don’t come cheap!

    Like

  6. Susan Irene Fox
    15/09/2014

    Good to hear from you, and glad you’re doing well.

    Like

  7. Kitt O'Malley
    15/09/2014

    Enjoy!

    Like

  8. kate58
    22/09/2014

    Best of luck to you! 🙂

    Like

  9. Jeanine
    26/09/2014

    Amazingly fantastic to hear, from Canada 😉

    Like

  10. Russel Ray Photos
    27/10/2014

    I want a “very physical job spending most of my free time swimming around waterfalls and creeks or driving through the bush to get to new waterfalls and creeks.”……….LOL

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      23/02/2015

      It was alright because my hours weren’t too bad but a physical job in the heat/humidity in far north QLD is something that I don’t think I’ll be able to do full time. I’m just not physically capable of withstanding the heat. After a while my work dried up and I became a house-wife. We still got to the creeks and waterfalls and so things weren’t all bad.

      What do you do for work right now if you don’t mind me asking?

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • Russel Ray Photos
        23/02/2015

        Two things: I’m a home inspector first (which means that it pays most of my bills) and a photographer. I’m trying to switch the two, though.

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          23/02/2015

          Ah righto. I’ve a friend who has a job that crosses the two, he photographs for an estate agency and the work suits him quite well.

          If you seriously want a manual job that puts you in a beautiful place the definite answer is simple but unpalletable.

          Give up your life and work for food and board. 😛

          Hope this doesn’t come across as facetious. It is exactly what I did.

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 14/09/2014 by in Uncategorized.
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,440 hits

ARCHIVE

