The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Forgetting your Seroquel leads to weird dreams apparently.

Lest you run into her...

Lest you run into her…

 

So I’ve got a cold and my head is wooly at best.  Last night I forgot to take my meds and the resulting dreams aren’t something I want a repeat of.  As is often the case I only remember the impression the dreams left on me, and the last minute or so.  For some reason outside the house I lived in in the U,K – I decapitated a small girl (who was actually an old woman) with a pair of sticks and then turned around just in time to see a GIANT young girl in a purple dress (Who was actually an old woman) step on my head and squash me.  I woke up just as I felt my left eye pop.

 

Anyone else ever had weird dreams or nightmares after missing a dose?

 

All the best,

H&J

41 comments on “Forgetting your Seroquel leads to weird dreams apparently.

  1. Von Simeon
    26/06/2014

    Seroquel and I don’t get along. But when I was on Vistaril, I had one where I was beating up my neighbor for being messy and I was yelling at her while ripping her hair out of her head, ‘I THOUGHT WE COULD BE FRIENDS!!’ Repeating until no hair was left. Now I’m on Lithium, and my sleep is erratic. Ahhh psychotropic meds…

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Good to know I’m not alone when it comes to attacking strange women outside my house… :p Psychotropic meds indeed.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  2. aeramoure
    26/06/2014

    I once had a dream that involved dragons who then turned into giant robots and started an apocalypse that then turned into me in a parking lot getting parking ticket after parking ticket (like a thousand of them). It was weird.

    Liked by 2 people

    • aeramoure
      26/06/2014

      Edit: this is why I take my Latuda consistently now

      Liked by 1 person

      • drheckleandmrjibe
        26/06/2014

        I find all lessons easier learned when they involve thousands of parking tickets and dragons. 🙂

        Cheers for commenting A!

        H&J

        Like

        • aeramoure
          27/06/2014

          Your welcome! Yeah I was more concerned with the parking tickets than the dragons, too

          Like

  3. booguloo
    26/06/2014

    Alright fellow ptsd and other like minded up and downers… A high blood pressure med has been able to push down the bad dreams and from my personal continued use it has done just that. I take 3 HCL 1 mg capsule at bedtime. PRAZOSIN. If bad dreams are a big issue call your Docs and have them get you a scrip

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      I’m going to try and exorcise caffeine from my life before anything else. I’ve slowly been upping my coffee dose to alarming levels and I think it may have a part to play here.

      Great to know of an option if all else fails though! Cheers

      H&J

      Like

  4. glenn2point0
    26/06/2014

    Wow, quite a dream H&J. I forgot to renew my meds last week but found some old lower dosages so I took them. And even the lower dose started to bring back some of the old thoughts.
    I normally don’t remember my dreams but recently I have been waking up after a particularly weird one.I will be keeping an eye on these events and decide whether I need to raise it with my doctor.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Hey Glenn,

      Can you double/triple the old pills to get to the same dose? I caught myself out one weekend and rather than 2x300mg I found some old meds and took 6 x 100mg.

      Seems everyone is having some kind of visit from a boogey-man right now.

      H&J

      Like

      • glenn2point0
        26/06/2014

        Good question! I wonder about the XR, extended release versions as 400mg released over 12 hours as compared to 4x100mg versions. Think a chemist would need to answer it. I do know that some high dose meds say not to split the pill which suggests they may be absorbed differently.
        Sometimes I wonder if the dreams are a sign of a more normal sleep pattern. These days I don’t read anything into my dreams though.

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          26/06/2014

          Oh I don’t read anything into my dreams other than how restful my sleep was! It’s a good job too, going back to the original post I’d be guilty of murderous thoughts and all manner of horrors. This dream wasn’t exactly extreme for the nightmares I’ve had. No no no no no I don’t read into dreams :p

          When the day comes that we put stock in my dreams as indicators of anything I’ll be locked up.

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

  5. woundstofeel
    26/06/2014

    I do not take seroquel, but I do combine lexapro and melatonin at night for sleep. Melatonin gives crazy dreams! I don’t envy yours.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      /makes a note to stay away from Melatonin!

      Honestly, sleep is great but when I have nightmares I wake up feeling more tired than before I went to bed. Is it the same for you?

      H&J

      Like

      • woundstofeel
        26/06/2014

        Definitely. They are mentally taxing! Sleep is supposed to be relaxing.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Gayle's Craft Room
    26/06/2014

    Effexor SR and wow dreams nasty dreams! Docs are good sometimes to change or adjust ,but missing doses well we all know we shouldn’t but things (life)happens. I am on Paxil and Wellbutrin sometimes I run out of one or the other and well…. lets just say I have been a good girl lately. I know I need to take an antidepressant it’s just that sometimes I forget oops……..here’s to sweet dreams for you,……….Gayle

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Thanks a lot for that Gayle! I’m ready to go back to dreamless nights, for sure.

      It’s the first time I’ve missed a dose. I’ve come close before now but always remembered. Last night I got into bed and skyped my girlfriend, we always talk until one of us is falling asleep and last night it meant that I didn’t even think about taking the pills because I’ve usually already taken them hours earlier.

      Time to get a pill box I think.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  7. destroythequeen
    26/06/2014

    I don’t sleep at all unless I take my seroquel. I once tried the extended release version, Seroquel XR, because it was cheaper at the time. I had the worst nightmares of my life. I was so scared I was afraid to go to sleep. I only last a couple days on that stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Interesting. I was originally prescribed Seroquel XL but the chemists gave me normal Seroquel accidentally. This was corrected about eight weeks ago. I’ve not monitored my dreams or sleeplessness but I can definitely say for a few weeks I’ve been unsettled. I’d not linked it to the XL. That’s given me food for thought, for sure.

      Thanks a lot!

      H&J

      Like

  8. I’m not on medication, but I’ve always been prone to weird, vivid dreams…..are you ever able to control your dreams, H&J, or are you aware, in your dream, that you are dreaming? I’ve experienced that quite a lot, but don’t know how usual that is….

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Lucid dreaming – my cousin has lucid dreams. For me – I’ve had half-experiences of this before now but I don’t think I ever have completely lucid dreams. Sometimes I get a sense that I’m dreaming but I think it is usually the fact that I’m waking up that prompts this.

      How does it work for you? Do you just exist in a world your mind has made and can walk around/act how you want or can you control the dream environment and change location/weather/physics? I’ve always been curious about this.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hi H&J, I’m not quite sure what you mean by the first part of the question, about existing in a world my mind has made, and how that’s different to the dream environment….but I would agree with the second part of your sentence. That’s how it is for me – I can control the environment and change all sorts of things, including physics. Most of the time either I don’t bother, or I’m not necessarily aware I’m dreaming – I’m not sure which. I’m quite happy to be immersed and let things play out. But sometimes I have to step in. For example – falling out of a hot air balloon, wasn’t pleasant! So, I thought to myself, ‘this is a dream’, and stopped the frame, climbed back into the balloon, and tried again from there. Another example – if I am about to be unfaithful in a dream and am feeling guilty or wondering what to do, I stop and think ‘this is just a dream’. The other thing about some of these dreams is that I can remember them for ages. So for years when I was growing up, my dreams seemed to be only ever about being chased. The locations and scenarios were different, but they were always about being chased. And the way I got away was by flying. Generally, with running, I always seemed to try and try, but stand still. And there was one particular dream where I was trying to escape a tricky situation and I thought ‘I’m dreaming, I’ve been here before, and I know how I got out of this last time, let’s do the same again’…..I find it all fascinating, but have never met anyone else before who has the same type of lucid dreaming. It would be interesting to know what causes or facilitates it, and whether people with particular mental health conditions are more prone to it than others……

        Liked by 1 person

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          27/06/2014

          I agree that it is fascinating, especially for those of us who don’t have it. I’m curious as to any limits you might have with it. Is there ANYTHING you can’t do? You could essentially test-drive any psychosis you could have, haha.

          What I meant was, could you control the environment or not. The fact that you can is mindblowing, I think.

          Do you ever have nightmares, or does your control over the dreams mean that it’s impossible to have a nightmare?

          All the best,
          H&J

          Liked by 1 person

          • I’m curious about whether there’s any limits too! Sadly, I can’t seem to decide whether or not I dream on any particular night, or whether or not I dream lucidly. That’s probably a very very good thing, otherwise I would just try and immerse myself in intense lucid dreaming world more of the time, as an escape from reality! I could _try_ and remember, next time I’m dreaming lucidly, to try an ‘experiment’ and see what’s possible! Any suggestions for what sort of limits I might test?!
            It’s not impossible to have nightmares, as not all my dreams are lucid. Also, I tend to let even the bad ones play out, and I don’t know whether that’s because they’re not lucid and I can’t affect them, or whether it’s because part of me needs the intensity and the immersion, even though the feelings themselves are negative. I always feel like I’ve had better quality sleep when I lucid dream, and I feel ‘more alive’ and like I’ve had a very ‘real’ experience (which is somewhat counter-intuitive!) but again, I think that’s possibly related to the link between BPD/intensity and the fact that often, ‘intense’=’feeling real’. However, I’m very lucky in many ways, as bad dreams (a bit like scary films) are subsequently remembered, but not vividly, and I may wake up distressed, panicked etc, but the feeling doesn’t tend to last very long afterwards.
            I’m not sure if the ‘quality’ or the ‘feel’ of the dream is different in a lucid dream as opposed to just an intense dream. It doesn’t feel different, which is why I struggle to know what triggers a lucid dream. Why, at some points, does part of my brain kick in and remind me that I’m dreaming, or intervene to change the environment? Was my brain able to do that at any point, it just chose its moment, or are some of my dreams always ‘non-lucid’ with no potential for lucidness at all? I can feel I’m about to wind myself up in knots with this 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  9. The Chuckle
    26/06/2014

    Seroquel is well known for weird dreams isn’t it? I’m like you, remember the sense of it rather than detail. Although that can have a big effect on the day ahead!

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      26/06/2014

      Oh for sure. Thankfully it doesn’t happen very often but I have dreams that when I’ve remembered them last about 3 months and they’re usually absolutely torturous. If I have one of those, whether I remember it or not, the day if not a few days, is a COMPLETE write-off.

      I took Seroquel without reading anything about it. I was suicidally depressed when I started and I didn’t need any reasons to avoid medication. Not that dreams would have stopped me taking it.

      From the number of people talking about it here, I suppose it is commonly known for the dreams! 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  10. cheerythunder
    27/06/2014

    I actually find that I’ve been dreaming much more vividly now that I’m on Seroquel. It’s kind of awesome..one of the perks..

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      27/06/2014

      Rarely do I have dreams that have a positive influence on the day to come. I wish I had good dreams but its been a long time since I consistently had dreams that weren’t nightmares. I’ve got no idea why, the ones that I remember (or worse the ones I don’t remember but get left with the emotions from) are all uniformly terrible.

      Some you win, some you lose. I stand a much better chance at happiness while AWAKE on Seroquel and I guess that’s the main thing 🙂

      Thanks for commenting and I hope you continue to do so.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  11. buczthebeginning
    27/06/2014

    I wasn’t on seroquel long enough to know one way or another. But I can say that when I switched from Lexapro to a different one I had some crazy dreams. I’m thinking that a lot of those drugs cause that.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      27/06/2014

      I suppose we really shouldn’t be surprised. By definition we’re taking mind-altering substances. So long as the positive results keep coming I’m happy to weather a few nightmares.

      Thanks for commenting 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  12. mentalparent
    27/06/2014

    I’ve never been on Seroquel but I have heard some really wild things about it. I am sticking to my Lamictal lol. I have found it gives me the least amount of side effects.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      27/06/2014

      That’s great. Seroquel has worked pretty well for me. I wonder sometimes if I would do better on something else but really, I’ve gotten off lightly with side effects so if it isn’t TOO broken, I don’t intend to fix it.

      I heard one particular horror story of Lamictal causing a young lad’s skin to come off in sheets, it sounded horrific. I’m glad you’re absent of the side effects.

      Thanks a lot for commenting 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  13. Addicted Scotian
    27/06/2014

    I had this crazy dream about picking magic mushrooms in a field in the middle of the night. This was with missing Effexor XR though. I would build almost another life in my dream world at times. It’s crazy :p

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      28/06/2014

      If only we could put that unchained imagination to work when conscious!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  14. istralouise
    28/06/2014

    I have a completely different diagnosis and so am on Risperdal and Lexapro with Wellbutrin. I have to say that when I miss the Risperdal I don’t tend to sleep at all during the night.. My dreams are always really strange an interesting, but since I’ve been on medication I haven’t had many that were unsettling to me, even if some of them have been negative and by all rights should have been nightmares. I don’t remember any that were really recent.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      28/06/2014

      Good for you! It seems I don’t remember dreams or the feelings from them unless they’re unusual, shameful or terrifying. I’m glad it isn’t the case for you and that your med cocktail is working out for you. 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  15. lesserspottedhuman
    29/06/2014

    I had never had auditory hallucinations. Last year while in a facility, my psychiatrist prescribed seroquel. That next morning I woke up believing I was in a restaurant with people talking loudly all around me. I was so irritated with them I wanted them to quiet. And the next day something similar. My psych took me off them as soon as I told him and it stopped.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      29/06/2014

      Hey, thanks for commenting. Sounds like your doctor was on the case. Yours is the first instance of Seroquel causing psychosis that anyone has told me about on here. A dubious award to be sure but you have it 🙂

      Did you find any drugs that worked for you without the delusions?

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • lesserspottedhuman
        29/06/2014

        Ha ha, I’ really surprised about that – my psych told me it has happened to a few of his patients. But I suppose it only happens if you have a predisposition.

        I was put on fluanxol (flupenthixol dihydrochloride) for about 8 months after that because my previous Psychiatrist told me it was the “best” for a dual diagnoses of bipolar and borderline personality.. This guy never listened to me when I told him my difficulties with the drug on account of him believing all borderlines are liars and looking for attention. I swopped Psychs and my new drugs have made the WORLD of difference and even at a very low dose. Besides the mood stabilizer and anti dep, I am now on Abilify (aripiprazole) and Leponex (clozapinum). I’m a little more manic now but the suicidality has majorly decreased.

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          29/06/2014

          Well you’ve got the best ‘problems’ to have. I envy you in some ways 🙂 Glad it all worked out. Abilify seems to get good reviews on here.

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 26/06/2014 by in Medication, Toon and tagged , , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,030 hits

ARCHIVE

