The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Blog Hop – The Writing Process

Last week I was asked by Maria.A.Abanga from over at http://marieabanga.com/ if I minded if she passed the torch forward on a blog hop about the writing process.  I’ve decided to not get involved any more in the awards that blow through occasionally.  This post is the exception to my reluctance to get stuck into chain posts because firstly of when Maria asked me to join in and secondly because she has been such a strong supporter for this blog.

 

What am I working on/writing?

Right now, I write almost exclusively here.  It keeps me busy as I am focused on expanding my readership and making this website more and more useful and entertaining to you all.  I’m very new to writing for an audience like this and, thanks to my meds, I cannot always come up with content that I feel is worthy of being published.  I have to make hay when the sun shines.  Perhaps when I’ve been further down the Bipolar Rabbit hole and know more I’ll write a book about my experiences if I have enough to say.  Certainly they don’t fit the standard model thusfar, if such a thing can really be said to exist.

 

Something that takes quite a lot of writing time is also the stream of e-mails that I receive through the blog.  Thankfully there have been some people who have taken me up on my offer of being something of a confidant and I try to never be tardy or short in my replies to these.  My ultimate mission here is to help others in the way that my dear friend helped me.  Wading through the confusion in the early days of coming to terms with an illness like Bipolarity is exhausting.  I get a huge kick out of making it easier in some small way.

 

How does my work/writing differ from others in its genre?

I’m not a medical professional and I have nothing to sell. Nor am I part of the cult of positive thinking or someone who is going to speak to you about Chakras or the healing power of believing in God.  I call them how I see them and I’m not afraid to tell a hard truth.  I’m trying to learn about the brain illnesses, primarily Bipolarity, but I honestly don’t believe that we’re anywhere near understanding them well.  My spider sense tingles when reading 50% of the ‘facts’ about the illnesses as to their accuracy.  I think that in a hundred years or less mankind will look back at the psychology of today in the same way we currently look at mysticism and alchemy.  That being said – I don’t have an overly scientific approach to my healing right now.  I read as much as I can from the scientific community but holding the belief that I do – that they don’t know enough to answer all my questions – leaves me willing to trust my gut on a lot of things, because I don’t believe that I’ll be around by the time they figure out the finer points of how mood disorders work.  I believe that we are all in charge of our own rehabilitation and health, nomatter what.

 

My observations and ‘advice’ such as it is are COMPLETELY coloured by my own personal experiences.  This is why my work truly is my own.   I follow Andrew Solomon’s opinion:

“It is my absolute belief that in the field of depression, there is no such thing as a placebo.  If you have cancer and try an exotic treatment and then you think you are better, you may well be wrong.  If you have depression and try an exotic treatment and think you are better, then you are better.  Depression is a disease of thought processes and emotions, and if something chnages your thought processes and emotions in the correct direction, that qualifies as a recovery.

 

Why do I write what I do?

Ultimately I write to explore ideas, to record them (time stamped) and to better learn about how to make myself well.  The incentive running alongside that has become the desire to help other’s who are perhaps more confused than I am on certain issues.  I needed a guiding hand in those anarchic early days of grieving for my old life, resenting the life I instead had and wondering how I would ever be anything other than at the mercy of Bipolarity.  I have had the example of how crucial and inspiring the right words and ideas can be at the right moment.  I search for the opportunity to do for someone what my friend did for me all those months ago.

 

How does my writing process work?

A lot of the blog posts here are quite poorly organised as pieces of writing.  The nature of writing to work through ideas means that it would defeat the point if I elected to write contrived posts where I knew exactly where they were going all the time.  Still – I do on occasion begin with a standfirst and try to apply rigorous standards to what I produce.  The guest article I did for Trish at http://www.mentalhealthtalk.info is an example of this.  Sometimes I’ll be scribbling a doodle and that will inspire me – more often than not I write about the confluence of multiple ideas that I have been plagued or encouraged by for a few days.  I’m a thinker.  Always have been.  Even without any brain illnesses it is in my nature to think very deeply about things, almost anything.

 

I decided a while ago that I wasn’t going to resort to populist content.  “The top 5 Bipolar mistakes”, “CAUTION : Medication and over-medication” , “My top 10 rules for living with Bipolar Disorder”.  Plenty of bloggers out there will scoff at me for this and, since they’re the experts, I’ll let them have the scoff.  I’ve recognised, however, the utterly homogenised and bland content that is shat out by every copywriter in the land when they follow populist writing conventions.  I don’t intend to go the same way.

If ANYONE wants to take up the torch and continue this blog-hop – Please do so and reference my open invitation to you here.  Four questions, they’re not that hard 🙂

All the best,
H&J

8 comments on “Blog Hop – The Writing Process

  1. banuski
    25/06/2014

    Great post. I’ve just started writing about my own experiences with depression and anxiety and your decision not to do the populist content and what might be considered link bait is one I may follow.

    Liked by 2 people

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      Thanks a lot for the kind words. I really appreciate the encouragement.

      Not going the populist route may mean that I potentially limit my exposure but I don’t really care. I’m here for genuine connections and to help people who want it. Not to give people something to flick through for 30 seconds on the bus.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marie Abanga
    25/06/2014

    Men, am reading this at 1.30am, was wondering if l was ‘foolish’ in passing on the torch to you. Now, l can resume fightimg with sleep for lile 3 more hours 😥
    Yours is a great post and am proud of my choice, proud that you wrote so well and frankly.

    I had the opportunity to speak up for mental illness and depressions at our Cameroon National Radio this very morning where l was a guest on the famous Frank Talk show.

    It has taken me tooth and nail to read this on my phone, and leave this comment. I hope it goes.

    Thanks once more and sure we are tired to be tied to blogging commitments etc. Any ome willimg to continie the hop as per my friend’s invitation, will be expected to post exactly a week from today.

    Cheers Pal, Marie from Africa in miniature

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      Good to hear from you Marie,

      I was wondering if you thought I’d forgotten! 😛

      Thanks for braving the technological torture that is using a smart phone to come and comment. Always appreciated.

      Good for you for piping up on the radio too. Nice work!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  3. glenn2point0
    25/06/2014

    Great post H&J. It’s interesting reading that you, like others with mental illness, and myself all want to help make it a little easier for others. Peer support and comments on issues that the similarly affected have experienced is invaluable. That people write with such honesty and without shame is a good way to reduce stigma about mental health issues.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      Cheers Glenn

      There are days when I wake up thinking that this is all pointless and I should knock in on the head. You guys indulging me with reminders that it’s worth doing is one of the best incentives to keep writing, I’ll be honest.

      And if I’ve ever been anything – it’s shameless 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  4. valleygrail
    25/06/2014

    I was married for 30 years to a man who had Bipolar Disorder; pretty familiar with the ins and outs of it. I appreciate your authenticity and transparency about the condition. You are brave as you put your life out there. I know you will help others on the same journey, and it’s good not to be alone when those paths get rough.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      Thanks again for taking the time to comment and I sincerely hope you’ll stick around and continue to do so. Yours is a perspective sorely needed and impossible to seek out on WordPress actively. There are very few blogs entitled “Three decades of marriage to a Bipolar man”.

      Thanks for the kind words 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 25/06/2014 by in Award, Self Analysis and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,440 hits

ARCHIVE

