The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Travel Journal – Ice Swimming – 08/12/2013

Or so you’d think!  I went to Lake Eacham today to go for a swim.  Barely anyone was there, when I asked Eileen ‘why?’ upon my return – it comes to light that 25°c is far too cold to get Australians out swimming.  I have no fucking words…  The water was warm, the sun wasn’t BLASTING down and there was a mild breeze. Perfick!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Saw razorback turtles, a waterdragon, pelicans and a nice local who pointed out all of natures bounty so I didn’t blithely wander past the aforementioned animals.

 

Will definitely do it again.  There are also free BBQs and stalls set up around for people to make food on.  This is a 10 minute drive from where I’m staying.

 

Oh – There ARE crocs in it but they are the small freshwater ones.  Only really a threat if I’m hit with a shrink ray an have scales surgically grafted on.

 

 

4 comments on “Travel Journal – Ice Swimming – 08/12/2013

  1. Island Traveler
    24/06/2014

    Sounds like a fun, thrilling swim.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had a similar experience when I went to the beach in august in Australia many years ago. There was I in my bikini, swimming in the sea, joined only by a few surfers in their wetsuits. The Australians thought I was bonkers 😉 admittedly, being the ocean, rather than a lake, it was a little chilly………what a gorgeous place to have almost on your doorstep!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      24/06/2014

      The last time I swam in the sea here I did so in stinger season when a deadly jellyfish makes it’s appearance. My Australian ‘friend’ didn’t mention that the Irukandji were swarming off the coast at that time of year and let me go for a dip. Ah well, lesson learnt :p

      Last year I was in Finland running practically naked through the snow, I think I’ll handle an Australian winter at the beach! 😀

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 24/06/2014 by in Travel Journal and tagged , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,440 hits

ARCHIVE

