The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

www.mentalparent.com – Head over and show some support

#Bipolar #Parenting

 

After the meeting with my doctor I sat for a long time wondering…is it really just depression? Maybe there is nothing wrong with me. I am sure I am just making this up. That day I went off my medications completely. About a week later…I became incredibly manic. I felt like an electrified bumblebee just buzzing around my kitchen finding things to clean faster than the speed of sound. I became hypersexual, practically humping my husband at the dinner table with no regard for anyone watching. It was the best/worst days of the experience. It was about 2 days of mania before I spiraled down…hard. Bad enough to worry Joe…which takes a lot. For nearly a week a sat on the couch and watched my family go on with their normal routines as if I were paralyzed. Unshowered and unmotivated…I felt dead. As if iron were running through my veins, the smallest things felt like great challenges. I wept, for no reason. I laid, in a daze paying no attention to my surroundings, I was in another world. Finally Joe confronted me and questioned why I kept doing this. I told him “There is nothing wrong, I am just sad, they said I just had a shitty Mom”. He grabbed me and said “There is something wrong, this is your proof, you are not here Heather, you have gone somewhere else. Please, go back on your medication…it was obviously doing something…if not staving away this”.

After the meeting with my doctor I sat for a long time wondering…is it really just depression? Maybe there is nothing wrong with me. I am sure I am just making this up. That day I went off my medications completely. About a week later…I became incredibly manic. I felt like an electrified bumblebee just buzzing around my kitchen finding things to clean faster than the speed of sound. I became hypersexual, practically humping my husband at the dinner table with no regard for anyone watching. It was the best/worst days of the experience. It was about 2 days of mania before I spiralled down…hard. Bad enough to worry Joe…which takes a lot. For nearly a week a sat on the couch and watched my family go on with their normal routines as if I were paralysed. Unshowered and unmotivated…I felt dead. As if iron were running through my veins, the smallest things felt like great challenges. I wept, for no reason. I laid, in a daze paying no attention to my surroundings, I was in another world. Finally Joe confronted me and questioned why I kept doing this. I told him “There is nothing wrong, I am just sad, they said I just had a shitty Mom”. He grabbed me and said “There is something wrong, this is your proof, you are not here Heather, you have gone somewhere else. Please, go back on your medication…it was obviously doing something…if not staving away this”.

 

The above quote is from a post of theirs entitled “Going off my meds – Recipe For Disaster”

 

I was contacted by Heather over at http://www.mentalparent.com earlier today.  The website may be a better resource for those of you who have children than my blog here.  They offer a perspective that I cannot provide (No kids).

 

All the best,
H&J

10 comments on “www.mentalparent.com – Head over and show some support

  1. glenn2point0
    23/06/2014

    Good to spread the word about support that is out there H&J.

    Like

  2. glenn2point0
    24/06/2014

    Reblogged this on glenn2point0 and commented:
    I sometimes wonder if my sister is in this position: a parent with BiPolar. It makes sense of so many things. I see to many of my symptoms in her not to be concerned. I hope I am wrong and she is not travelling the same path I had to take prior to getting on the right medication. I have no children and never wanted them.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. love this site. Everything else I have seen is about children castigating their parents for their illness. I wish they could understand we did not choose it, and like anyone, we cannot undo what has past.
    sometimes I feel devastated by how my Borderline PD might have impacted on my children, but I cannot seem to communicate to them that it is an illness like a physical one.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      These illnesses are difficult enough to understand as adults, so I feel your pain at trying to educate your kids. Don’t give up though. The more they know, the better. Raising a generation of people who are INVOLVED in the discussion is one of the ways we’ll get the stigma surrounding the illnesses knocked down.

      Another reason to ensure your kids are educated is the chance of inheriting the disease, as the genetics play a heavy role in who has Bipolarity e.t.c. The earlier someone understands these things, the better in my opinion.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  4. tmama10
    25/06/2014

    Reblogged this on My Blog (Life) and commented:
    love it and I never had the guts to go off mine besides being pregnant…. was a bad idea but I lived and my child is perfect!

    ❤ Mama T

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      Great that you’re supporting the site with a reblog. Thanks and kudos 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  5. socialworkerangela
    27/06/2014

    Thanks for reblogging This was good to read for me.

    Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 23/06/2014 by in Reblogs and tagged , , , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,030 hits

ARCHIVE

