The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Travel Journal – Down at the creek – 04/12/2013

This morning I staggered and stumbled through the hazy heat, across hulking hills and to the craggy creek.  After this Seussian sounding affair I took some photographs of the place for you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got a few videos of the animals I saw.  My camera work leaves much room for improvement but I thankfully got an OK one of the feature creature:

The Platypus.

This little guy was casually swimming around for a while as I booted the camera up.  I got a few seconds before he looks up as though to say “Fucking TOURISTS!” before going grumpily to sulk at the bottom of the creek.

 

If god exists, one of the first things I’m going to ask it is if it made this animal with stuff from the spare parts bin.

14 comments on “Travel Journal – Down at the creek – 04/12/2013

  1. Kitt O'Malley
    22/06/2014

    Love it. Beautiful lush photos. I live in arid southern California, so all that green is refreshing. Of course, we are on opposing hemispheres, but even our winters have been extremely dry. The platypus video was quite a treat!

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      22/06/2014

      I wish my camera work didn’t leave so much to be desired but they’re pretty shy creatures, and I had to wrestle the tablet from my pocket, power it up and then get to the camera app.

      Glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  2. Mela Designs
    23/06/2014

    One of my favourite creatures, just love the fact they are such a unique mammal.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. glenn2point0
    23/06/2014

    One of the many wonderful animals of evolution! Where was it taken H&J?

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      23/06/2014

      Taken just off of Rosewood Close outside Malanda, Queensland, Australia.

      The neighbour here has some fields for his cattle to graze on and the creek runs through the middle. Little bit of trespassing involved but bugger it, I didn’t hurt anyone or damage anything. It’s a beautiful spot.

      All the best
      H&J

      Like

  4. JoAnne Silvia
    23/06/2014

    Gorgeous colors! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. stockdalewolfe
    25/06/2014

    Love it!! Thanks for the smile for the day!

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/06/2014

      You’re very welcome, as always 🙂 Glad you enjoyed it.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • stockdalewolfe
        26/06/2014

        I have hoped you would look st my blog. But I am Bipolar with mania so perhaps that doesn’t interest you or perhaps you don’t like my style. Sending you s manic posts though I have many on depression. Here it is:

        stockdalewolfe.com\Rapid Cycling

        Thank you,
        Ellen

        Liked by 1 person

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          26/06/2014

          Please don’t misunderstand my absence as a lack of appreciation for what you do or your specific illness! I barely have the time right now to come up with content and reply to comments. I’m still trying to hold myself to the standard of replying to absolutely everyone.

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

          • stockdalewolfe
            26/06/2014

            You are super!! Don’t worry about me. I just wanted a dialogue with you. Your blog is tremendously successful. You should be very pleased! I know how hard it is to keep up. I have few comments– not sure why. Maybe because my posts are poetry and art. I try to keep up with all the likes. With all the people writing to you it is a wonder you can keep up. Continued good luck and thanks ever so much for taking the time to stop at my humble blog!

            Like

            • drheckleandmrjibe
              26/06/2014

              I’m really pleased with how it’s going and thanks for the kind words. I couldn’t be more pleased in fact. I actively pursue new followers and the comments section is where I get the most use out of the blog. The things I’m writing I already know (even in the freeform, working-out posts by the end), obviously, so I learn the most from what people write back to me.

              I think that on blogs that showcase an art form, there seems to be generally fewer comments because people are happy to look/listen/read and then they’ve got from it everything they want.

              Because I’m interested in the discussions and further exploration of the ideas I’d like to think that people feel as though they too would get more out of sharing here rather than reading for edification and moving on.

              Right now, my choice is [keep up with the comments and emails, writing new content] versus [reading the other, admittedly delicious, blogs that are out there].

              I set out to write and discuss first, read after so unless I could somehow get this to pay me a wage (wishful thinking I know) I’ve got a time limit to work within.

              I’ll try to look in more often, but no promises! 🙂

              H&J

              Like

  6. stockdalewolfe
    26/06/2014

    Don’t worry about looking at my blog. Mostly I wanted to connect with you. Your posts are informative and high quality and very therapeutic. You seem interested in turning the blog into something more and I think you could. With your kind intelligence and intelligent kindness you might consider some kind of forum. Or even going to school to be some sort of therapist. I am married to a clinical social worker and see similar virtues in you that would make you a good therapist. And thanks for what you said about blogs in general. Please accept my gratitude, elken

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      27/06/2014

      I think I’d like very much to be a therapist but the smart people who know me all agree with me that I wouldn’t survive the education system long enough to get there. I think I’m going to have to stick to helping people who’s paths cross mine.

      I really appreciate the encouragement and kind words though. A forum might be a good longer term goal, definitely food for thought.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 22/06/2014 by in Travel Journal and tagged , , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,325 hits

ARCHIVE

