The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

“Coming Out of the Bipolar Closet”

Beautifully written. Get over there and show some support everyone

All the best,
H&J

BIPOLAR IN BLOOM

image

You have a secret. A secret you’ve been keeping for years if not forever from your family, your friends, your boss, and maybe even yourself. A secret so secret that if people knew, it might change your relationships. They might judge you. They might hate you. They might even fear you. You’re different. You’re weird. You’re sick. You’ve tried to change it, but it’s just who you are, and you can’t keep it inside any more.

You’re bipolar.

Bipolar. Bi-polar. Manic Depressive. It doesn’t get easier the more you say it. You try to use “mood disorder” or “depressed” instead because you think it will have less stigma, but you know the truth. At the moment of diagnosis, you went from being that person — the eccentric-but-sometimes-sad creative — to that person: the crazy one. You know, the person on the subway who you avert your eyes from because you…

View original post 823 more words

9 comments on ““Coming Out of the Bipolar Closet”

  1. poetry's passion
    22/06/2014

    it’s a hard thing to admit to anyone . . all of the sudden people are afraid to be around you, like it’s a disease they can catch. . break out the straight jackets and electro shock therapy. . it’s just easier to lie and not say a word and keep it all bottled up. . i feel for you ツ

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      22/06/2014

      I’ve been lucky in that I’ve been away from home and from friends and family. Out here the only people I know and spend a lot of time with all get it. I’ve been incredibly lucky. Thanks for the well-wishes 🙂

      I didn’t write this post, you might want to head over to the original author’s page and spread the love there too!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bipolaraftermath
    22/06/2014

    I just say “I am bipolar emmmereffer! Got a problem with that?” Never-mind what others say! Once u accept yourself, that is all that matters:)!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      22/06/2014

      I respectfully disagree, but I do so knowing this situation is different for all of us.

      Where I originate from, there is enough stigma around these diseases that it provides the MAJORITY of what anyone knows about them at all. If not for the negative stereotypes, people where I used to live would never have even heard of Bipolar Disorder Schizophrenia or Clinical Depression.

      With a lot of my friends and family I have needed to, and will continue to need to educate them and aid their understanding of the disease. Not because they’re bad people but because they simply have NEVER been told any truths on this subject.

      These illnesses do not form part of the syllabus in the U.K and the only people who know about them generally are the people keeping a family secret.

      Still – Good for you that you can be so bold. I’m glad you’ve got the power to do that! 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • bipolaraftermath
        22/06/2014

        So sorry to hear that! Read my last blog! It is no different here! I don’t know how U remain to keep it secret. Have u ever cycled mania? That is a site see and is not easily hidden. Of course there are several types and degrees of severity! I wish u the best!!

        Liked by 1 person

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          22/06/2014

          I’ve always behaved in extreme ways and because of the things that have happened in my life – everyone has always expected me to behave unusually. I’ve not had a psychotic break with a full episode of Hypermania, no hallucinations. I kept it secret from myself for at least 10 years, not just everyone else!

          Where I used to live, nomatter how strangely you behaved – unless you had a psychotic break and/or attempted suicide – everyone will find a false explanation for your behaviour. Grief, stress, being a ‘Black and white’ person, having a short temper, being a giddy kind of person. What looks like obviously Bipolar behaviour to me now used to just be ‘the way I am’.

          Hope that makes it easier to understand 🙂

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

          • bipolaraftermath
            22/06/2014

            Totally understand! I have had the worst type with mania, hypomania and depression! A total break in reality! So I completely understand. I refused to believe I was bipolar but after the last episode in 2006, I destroyed everything in my path. It was then I decided to come to terms with my illness. I hope u are able to talk with someone that accepts you and your illness! I’ll be glad to be someone you can lean on.
            Keep in touch:)!

            Like

            • drheckleandmrjibe
              22/06/2014

              Thanks to WordPress – I talk with hundreds of you who accept my illness and I! 🙂 I have very supportive friends, a very supportive girlfriend and a family who love me unconditionally, even if they don’t fully understand the disease.

              As for keeping in touch – of course! 🙂

              All the best,
              H&J

              Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 21/06/2014 by in Reblogs, Uncategorized.
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,440 hits

ARCHIVE

