The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Very Inspiring Blogger Award

“Identity involves entering a community to draw strength from that community and to give strength there-to”

Andrew Solomon

 

Image

 

Kitt O’Malley (http://kittomalley.com) and Breakdownchick (http://breakdownchick.wordpress.com) both nominated me for this award.  This is the first of any of these award schemes I’ve ever been the recipient of; To be suggested by two bloggers at once is very humbling and I would like to say a heartfelt Thank you to you both.  I was in two minds as to whether I want to be given ‘awards’ just for creating content here.  I generally shy away from this kind of thing because I begin to feel a little bit self-conscious about feeding a narcissistic streak within myself.  In the interest of sponsoring further communication and community though I’m more than happy to pay this kind of complement forward.

 

The rules in accepting this award are:

  • Thank and link the amazing person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
  • Optional: Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

 

Seven facts about H&J:

 

  1. I’m one of three children to an undiagnosed Bipolar father, who was the child of an undiagnosed Bipolar mother.  One of my siblings is also Bipolar but also diagnosis himself as ‘fine’. My inability to reach my sibling about the illness is one of my greatest failings as a human being.  My sibling will soon be a parent and the cycle of our forebears’ undiagnosed illness and emotional illiteracy will be allowed to continue.
  2. Motorcycling is the only activity that I can reliably state occupies my mind and body enough to have me completely focussed on the present moment and I LOVE it for that.
  3. I fall in love a little with my real friends, male or female.  I believe this is entirely natural and resistance to it makes me feel inhuman and hollow.  I suspected myself of being homosexual for a long time, but I realised eventually that this was latent homophobia making me suspicious of my love for my male friends.  The -sexual suffix is where the theory falls foul of reality.  The gory bits of homosexuality do nothing for me.  Let it rather be said that I’m a homophile.
  4. My worst psychosis manifests as the ‘knowledge’ that I am not at all ill and that I’m merely being self-indulgent.  When this comes over me I have to tell myself ANYTHING that will keep me on my medication.
  5. I do not yet know what I want from life and the prospect of wasting the last shreds of my youth occasionally terrifies me and makes me ashamed.
  6. I have the capacity to be amoral and I will do anything to avoid putting myself in a situation where this trait is beneficial to me.  My last job taught me that I can become morally flexible when given the choice of ‘me or them’.  Being ‘good’ for me takes effort.  This effort is matched only by how much I wish it didn’t need to exist.
  7. I dropped out of Art college and this perceived ‘failure’ has come to weigh heavily in how I see myself despite the fact that I don’t doubt it was absolutely the right choice, having chosen poorly which school to attend.  I often wonder where I would be had I attended Camberwell as I wanted to.

 

The fifteen bloggers I nominate for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award are:

 

Marie Abanga (http://marieabanga.com/– I’ve only recently ‘met’ Marie but her no-nonsense and candid approach to the brain disease discourse is refreshing and leaves me hopeful for all of us.  Her compassion for others who are ill and her obvious love of her family are hugely endearing.  I love getting an African perspective, something I didn’t expect to have, and it always adds another dimension to the conversation.

 

Bree over at (http://dysthymiabree.com/) – Bree was one of my first followers who engaged me in regular conversation and her willingness to care for others is thrown into sharp relief by her Facebook support group, which she lovingly tends like an exotic, endangered garden.

 

Glenn from (http://glenn2point0.wordpress.com/) – Glenn’s “About” page is inspiring enough, it takes character to admit when you were wrong about someone and to reconcile, forgoing your pride.  I’m glad to interact with Glenn  – his cogent comments add to every discussion.

 

LiaB(http://lifeinabind.wordpress.com/) – Rarely do you get short post on this blog.  The time spent reading these earnest and thought provoking posts, however, could NEVER be deemed to be time wasted.  For our Borderline brethren – a must see.
(http://bipolarforlife.me/) – Not that she needs a plug from me – LPS’ posts are genuine, insightful and entertaining in equal measure.  Head on over.

 

AmandaQuirky(http://amandaquirky.com/) – As if being a student doesn’t involve enough writing – Amanda takes the time to post as she learns and to interact with some of us, the more fortunate denizens of wordpress.

 

Paula – (http://depressionexists.com/) – Paula has recently undergone multiple sessions of ECT.  The bravery in making use of this treatment option is staggering to me, and I’m sure we’re all going to learn more about living with Bipolar, post ECT fairly soon from her blog.

Carrotykate(http://bipolarcodex.com/) – A picture can say a thousand words, some of CK’s say 1001.  Go have a look!

 

Aeramoure(http://notsocrazytalk.wordpress.com/) – Telling it how it is and helping support fellow sufferers at the Skype Support Initiative.

 

Stockdale Wolfe (http://stockdalewolfe.com/) – Anyone who dedicates posts to Mark Rothko and gives the standard of input shown by TSW in discussions here gets my vote.

 

Sheri de Grom(http://sheridegrom.wordpress.com/) – I’ve only recently bumped into SdG on here but so far I’ve received some absolutely no-nonsense feedback on a few posts and everything I’ve read has been informative and indicative of a level of resilience I can only hope to reach one day.

 

Jason Clark(http://therootofanger.wordpress.com/) – Jason’s story and willingness to share it are both humbling.  Go check out The Root of Anger.

 

(http://neverbenormalagain.wordpress.com) – Check out the post ‘Spin Doctor’

 

MBPRC2014(http://mybipolarrollercoaster.com/) – Now taking contact details from people with Bipolar to do interviews about their condition. Go sign up.

 

Pieces of Bipolar(http://piecesofbipolar.wordpress.com/) – See http://piecesofbipolar.wordpress.com/2014/06/07/whats-the-password/

 

All the best,

H&J

 

 

 

 

 

20 comments on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Morgan
    10/06/2014

    Many Congratulations 🙂

    Like

  2. stockdalewolfe
    10/06/2014

    A hearty congratulations on your award, H&J! Your blog certainly deserves it. I always come away with something of import after reading your posts! It was very interesting to read more about you. One thing really hit me over the head though and that is your inclination to think you are being self-indulgent and the necessity of staying on the meds. I can’t tell how many times this still happens with me even after nearly 35 years of having been diagnosed. Oh, I know I need the meds. Just have to forget a dose and suffer the painful consequences though even this I can rationalize away. But worse is the guilt and feeling if I just tried harder… Or other people have far worse problems, etc. etc. This is what I love about your blog. You make me feel less alone and your honesty and self- awareness make me understand more about being Bipolar.

    As I read further to see who you nominated, I was humbled and shocked to find Moonside there. I always thought… Oh, never mind, just a paranoid thought. Thank you so much for the honor. I will decline it though because I have an award-free blog. Thank you again and will look forward to more posts from you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      11/06/2014

      Hello SDW,

      As always, thanks very much for the kind words. I don’t really feel encouraged to know that this feeling of self-indulgence has the potential to be there for the rest of my tenure here on earth, but I expected as much to be honest. I think this is one of those malfunctions that a personality like mine guarantees when thrown into the mix with Bipolarity.

      If I make you feel less alone it’s because you are NOT alone. Your comments (whether intentionally or not) reciprocate that sense of not being alone and I take heart from your supportive words.

      Tell me about why your blog is award-free. I’ve seen that once or twice and I almost fell into line because I didn’t really have the energy to do that post last night. It took so much longer than it should have done. In the end I saw it as a way to keep the conversations we have here moving forward.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • stockdalewolfe
        12/06/2014

        Oh, don’t go by me. You may be able to conquer the self- indulgent thought processes. I seem unable to learn the most basic lessons. You may be better equipped to do so. You seem more on the ball. I am also OCD, GAD, and Asperger’s with a few phobias thrown in. Not the best. So don’t give up the ghost.

        As for awards, I just don’t have the time or wherewith all to do them, being impossible at following directions and un computer savy. I did a few and then decided it was not for me. They felt uncomfortable. But I learned a lot about you from your awards statements and they can be great for getting followers. I have about 1500 followers, mostly through Twitter and follow about 75 blogs and feel the need to visit each person who gives me a “like.”. I am barely able to keep up with that and am thinking if alternatives because I also do inline animal activism and then there us email! Yikes!

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          12/06/2014

          I won’t give up entirely but I feel fairly secure that this one is something that will get stronger as I get stronger. It’s part of me I think.

          I don’t visit everyone who ‘likes’ a post but I always try to reply to comments and engage willing victims in discussion 🙂 I’m not convinced I’ll do more of these chain posts if they arrive but I’ll have to decide case by case.

          Quite frankly I was glad of the prompt for content because I’m struggling right now.

          Like

  3. Marie Abanga
    10/06/2014

    Hmm, l breathe in, calm down and start again. l wrote a comment and when l clicked send l was told some fucking whatever. So, let me do it again for some sanity and for the kindness of my friend H&J.

    I wrote that, when l saw the post, l was in awe (a mix of envy and pride for my friend). l am candid. l was envious that he just came along and is already having all those many followers and is being nominated by two people at once and this early in his blogging career?

    l was proud of him because l know how the ‘depressed’ we can sometime feel even just with a little rain or none at all if you get my point. Men, l am happy for you, a Dr in deed.

    Now, as l was reading, l came to the rules and something said in me, hmm what if he nominates you? And l was seriously hoping not because these things move me to tears, am still learning to deal with my ‘great emotions’ – there’s is a post over me on that.

    So, l find out later he did just that and l cry some, and l write a comment which first declines to go, l get mad, storm out of the office, calm down, and am writing another one.

    Oh, lest my comment becomes a post, let me instead write an acceptance speech over at my place – you are all welcome in an hour’s.

    The little glitch might be who to nominate for l don’t like people who wouldn’t accept my appreciation – anyway it ain’t by force right? 15 just too many l beg to argue hahaha

    cheers, Marie author of My Unconventional Loves

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Marie Abanga
    11/06/2014

    Dear H&J, l hope l am the first person to claim my award 🙂
    http://marieabanga.com/2014/06/10/gosh-very-inspiring-blogger-award/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Congratulations 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kcg1974
    12/06/2014

    So happy for you. Congratulations!

    Like

  7. Kitt O'Malley
    12/06/2014

    Thank you so much for sharing such personal insights.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. aeramoure
    12/06/2014

    Reblogged this on Not So Crazy Talk and commented:
    WOAH. To see that “telling it how it is” as HJ said is actually doing something, well, that means SO MUCH. I am so new to wordpress and still have so much to say. I swear, you will not be dissapointed.

    So, I’ll nominate a couple of people too. 🙂

    DrHecklandMrJibe

    http://thebipolarbum.com

    Who also says it how it is and supports many, especially through his ingenious support initiative. He is one of my first followers and I’m going to start paying it forward by nominating one of the people who is getting me out there. Really, it’s appreciated. Lots.

    The Strong One
    http://crazybutstrong.wordpress.com

    Who at the very least gives me a little hope with her wonderful, fun story telling that is oh so real.

    Coffeeandbipolar

    http://thinkingaboutlife.wordpress.com

    Who tells the reality of what is a frightening disorder through his own life. For many of us, that’s something to relate to, and for even more of us, it’s scary to tell.

    Geez, it’s hard to think of more people… I’m still feeling my way around this place…

    At the same time, it’s good to see how many of us are doing at least something meaningful somewhere. That’s the real gem here.

    Like

  9. amandaquirky
    12/06/2014

    Hey, congratulations–it is very deserved, your blog is definitely inspiring! Sometimes, even more than your entries, it’s the way you handle nay-sayers/people who don’t really understand mental illness… that really is something for which you deserve ALL THE KUDOS.

    I really liked your list of important things, as well. Hang in there, re: your brother… and be careful, yeah? It’s neither your fault nor failure that he won’t accept the truth about himself. (My mama always said the worst lie is the one you tell yourself. Or there’s the one about how many psychologists does it take to change a lightbulb–one, but it has to want to change. Or… you get the idea.) We always feel responsible for our family, especially when we have answers/knowledge they don’t have, but all we can do is share what we know. The rest is up to them, right?

    Oh, and thanks! I don’t even know what to say…. other than, I’m so new to this, I don’t even follow 15 blogs yet (do I? I don’t think I do)…

    Being nominated is the nicest thing that’s happened to me in a while, though. And it couldn’t have come at a better time (just some personal stresses flaring up) so, really, again, thank you. I think I welled up a little, actually. And hey, maybe once I’ve checked out all the other nominees, I’ll be able to accept 🙂

    Let me think on this for a few days 🙂 And trust me, even if I don’t *do* anything about it, I will be thinking (with thanks) about the fact that you stuck my name up there.

    –AmandaQuirky

    PS Did I say thank you? 😉

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      12/06/2014

      You did 😉 And you’re very welcome. Keep coming and contributing to the discussion here, that’s good enough for me.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  10. Many many congratulations on your award H&J! You really are an inspiration – not just your posts, but the way you interact on here, and support, and respond to comments, as others have noted as well. I am really thankful to have found you! I was also really interested to read the 7 facts above, and can definitely relate to nos 3-6…Thank you SO much for nominating me for this award too – I still can’t quite believe it, and it comes at a good time, as I’m having a bit of a crisis of confidence…..I know it sounds corny 😉 but I really am touched and honoured that you thought of me, and said the kind words that you did. I’m away for three days over the weekend and have a big work deadline coming up, so it may take me a little while to ‘do something about it’ in terms for paying it forward etc, but I will do so as soon as I get a chance! Many many thanks again. By the way, would it be ok to email you and pick your brains about something? x

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      13/06/2014

      Hi – Absolutely. E-mail me using the contact form over there:

      <———-

      The award isn't supposed to weigh heavily or put any pressure on you so firstly, don't worry about it. Do it when you feel like it, or if you don't end up doing anything about it – just take it for the complement it was intended to be. No drama 🙂

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  11. Pingback: Social 127 Very Inspiring Blogger Award | glenn2point0

  12. glenn2point0
    13/06/2014

    I’ve just posted on my blog in my post “https://glenn2point0.wordpress.com/2014/06/13/social-127-very-inspiring-blogger-award/” Award so thanks for the nomination H&J. cheers, Glenn

    Like

  13. Thanks H&J 🙂 will endeavour to email within the next week or so…..work deadlines are looming. And thank you for the reassuring words about the nomination – it does help, as I do feel bad whenever it takes me a long time to respond to someone or deal with something. I am very grateful for the compliment, and do take the nomination in that spirit, thank you 🙂

    Like

  14. Pingback: Blog awards – a few thoughts (probably neither inspiring nor influential) | Life in a Bind - BPD and me

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 10/06/2014 by in Award and tagged , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,325 hits

ARCHIVE

