The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

What’s the password?

I’m not entirely here this weekend – Hence the lack of my own content. I’m really sorry for that. All I can say is – don’t abandon me just yet, regular service will resume!

In the mean time, check out this great article from PiecesOfBipolar

All the best,
H&J

Pieces of Bipolar

Having bipolar II, means I’m more often languishing in the lows of depression, than frolicking in the magnificence of mania. Over time, I have learned to adopt certain strange strategies in order to avoid becoming marooned in the sea of sadness. It’s no quick and easy fix, mind you. It takes some work and a level of commitment to pull it off. But here’s what works for me:

I make pacts with myself. Yes I know it sounds childish. And in your mind’s eye you’re probably expecting us to meet in the treehouse at dawn, wearing our father’s old army camoflague, cupping our hands to mimic the owl-call that is the secret password. Hoohoo hoohoooo Hoohoo hoohoooo.

Well, put the cammo gear away, this is far simpler. All I do is I make a pact with myself. I make stipulations, I bargain and negotiate to get the job done, I…

View original post 201 more words

7 comments on “What’s the password?

  1. You’re forgiven 😉 and thanks for the really interesting reblog! Its true though, I feel the same about ‘taking a break’. I started to feel really anxious last night about the possibility of _not_ putting out a post this weekend. And I’m already trying to figure out how to find enough time to ‘write posts in advance’ for when I will be away next weekend, and at the end of June! I don’t want to ‘let people down’ even though a) logically part of me knows that’s not the case and b) it makes me feel narcissistic, as why should people be bothered if I don’t post, in any case, I’m sure no one will notice!!!!! I hope you’re having a good time, where ever you are, and what ever you’re doing 🙂 x

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      09/06/2014

      Thanks very much for the kind words LIAB. I’m having a great time and, thankfully, I’ve found an hour here to get to answering e-mails and comments. Hope your weekend is going well!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  2. cardonipazzo
    09/06/2014

    what you say about BPD and writing posts in advance is interesting. It’s weird how much we can distort ourselves by being concerned about what we believe other people might be thinking about us when they are really heads down into their own lives. I wonder if we all do it, but with BPD we are just more aware that we are???

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      09/06/2014

      Over-analysing has been part of my nature since I can remember. It takes a lot of energy and concentration for me to actively resist the urge to over-analyse things but I need to do so before I wind up ruminating. Bipolar might have made this a lot worse for me but it’s also part of my personality I think.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks H&J, I’m glad you had a good time! It’s a good thing my blog isn’t called ‘Life in a Rut’, isn’t it? 😉 My weekend was good too, though I really need to try and get more than four/five hours sleep a night (another factor that’s making me wonder about BP!). x

    Like

  4. Ditto to over-analysing, and yes, cardonipazzo, I agree that it’s a somewhat distorted perception to be so overly concerned about what others might be thinking. Perhaps some of us do it more than others? I think there are so many different factors involved – including wanting to please, and perfectionism (at least, for me those are factors!). Awareness is a double-edged sword sometimes 🙂

    Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 08/06/2014 by in Reblogs.
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,325 hits

ARCHIVE

