The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

They’re Following Me! (Seriously though: Thanks)

There's hundreds of 'em!

There’s hundreds of ’em!

 

 

In the last four days my readership has doubled.  To all the old-guard who have read and (hopefully) enjoyed the content so far – Thank you very much for your loyalty.  To you new folks – Thanks for coming along and I hope that you enjoy many more posts to come.  I’m here to interact and learn from people, as much as spout off my own opinions and experiences so, please,

 

GET STUCK IN WITH SOME COMMENTS (Reblogs are always appreciated too)! 🙂

 

I love to hear from you, especially you experienced Bipolar folks.  Reading about advanced coping strategies and experiences has left me very well prepared and educated about some of the pitfalls in dealing with this disease and I just have to say: Thanks a lot.

 

So, on this auspicious day – are there any requests?  I’m going to try and ramp up the quality of the posts as it is but are there subjects that currently leave gaping holes in the coverage I provide?  Is there anything that you’re curious about or that you feel I’ve not explained fully either about my situation or my experience of the illness?  Come at me, yo. Ahem..

As a final point I’d just like to plug another website that I’m involved in to try and get the word out further.  I set up and have been joined in running a peer-to-peer support initiative to try and get people FREE, INFORMED and UNDERSTANDING support when unavailable through the regular channels.  The more people we get involved the more likely it is that a buddy system will develop.  I already know of one such relationship where two users have found each other as an excellent source of support and regularly help each other through the dark times.

Check it out and please, spread the word.  I don’t link posts from this blog and we don’t allow other posts on there.  It exists PURELY to try and make more support available from people who actually GET IT.

 

http://skypesupportinitiative.wordpress.com/

 

All the best,
H&J

24 comments on “They’re Following Me! (Seriously though: Thanks)

  1. A. L. Park
    02/06/2014

    Wow great idea for that initiative. I like. I am a new follower!

    Like

  2. WOW! Many many congratulations on 500 followers 🙂 This isn’t necessarily a request for a post, maybe more of a ‘can I ask you some questions sometime and pick your brains about….’ kind of a request. You know that my diagnosis is BPD (thanks for following by the way 🙂 ) , but before I received the diagnosis, I had wondered whether I might have BPII or cyclothymia (more likely cyclothymia I think). I’m not disputing the BPD diagnosis, which I think is spot on (as does my husband and a couple of friends who know about it, one of whom also has BPD), but I do still wonder whether there is something else going on as well, and if so, whether I should do something about it, and go and see a psychiatrist again. There is a lot of stuff online about areas of overlap between BPD and Bipolar, and the comorbidity, and the frequency with which they are misdiagnosed as each other; and there seem to be opposing viewpoints amongst psychiatrists about whether these two disorders are on a single spectrum, or a completely different in nature. I guess the abandonment of the various ‘axes’ in the DSM V is leading further away from preconceived notions of certain disorders being of very different types to other disorders, but I haven’t had a chance to investigate the latest thinking in this area. This is all therefore a very long-winded way of asking whether you know much about the overlap/differences between BPD and Bipolar, or whether you’ve come across any good sources of information?

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      03/06/2014

      I’m afraid not. Because of the confidence that I DON’T have BPD my reading on it became very limited. In fact, the only things I know about it are that it has a good chance of co-morbidity with BPD and as you said, the symptoms of the two diseases are such that professionals aren’t yet sure whether they are really separate conditions at all.

      You could start with the Bipolar test I linked to at the top of the main page and work backwards from there. Wiki has a fairly succinct definition of the types of Bipolarity (including Cyclothymia I believe).

      It might be worth writing out a list of specific symptoms that you exhibit BEFORE reading about Bipolar too much, and then tick off the symptoms that are typical of BPD on one side of the word, then reviewing the list again – ticking on the opposite which are ALSO Bipolar symptoms.

      When it comes to doctors, I honestly believe a lot of the time the only reason they can diagnose someone as BPD or Bipolar or anything else is when they try a ‘suck it and see’ approach with medication. When they find the meds that work, they then retroactively diagnose the illness that those meds are likeliest to work for.

      I suppose the best place to start would be:

      You’re diagnosed with BPD. Do you exhibit SPECIFIC symptoms that are incredibly unusual for BPD?

      The last thing I’d say is that if you do go see a shrink and they medicate you for Bipolar – Make fucking sure that they don’t put you on meds that are guaranteed to conflict. The doctors won’t always know this. Here in Australia the chemists do the research and checking on this sort of stuff when you collect your meds.

      If you want to run specific symptoms by me for feedback you could do it here or e-mail me using the contact form. We can try and work from your knowledge of BPD and my (admittedly limited) knowledge of Bipolarity.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      04/06/2014

      Hey again,

      Check this post out, it seems PERFECT for what you were asking.

      http://louisaontheborderline.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/ive-been-to-the-top-ive-been-to-the-bottom/

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  3. Thank you so much H&J, for the detailed reply! I did the test a couple of months ago, and again just now, and do score above threshold given. One of the problems is knowing what’s unusual for BPD, in the sense that although hypomania isn’t listed, as far as I know, as a ‘symptom’ of BPD, there is quite a lot online to suggest that many people with BPD experience hypomanic symptoms. I’m not currently on medication, although I have wondered what would happen if I actually took the citalopram that I have in the cupboard (which I went and got prescribed when I was feeling suicidal for three weeks in January). Thank you very much for the offer of emailing you – I might just do that at some stage! The other thing I might do is write a post about some of the symptoms and then email you to get your take on it. I’m really grateful for your support, and your offer of help and ‘talking it through’ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      04/06/2014

      No problem, I’m happy to help whenever I can.

      A comment I’ll make is that, for me personally, not being on medication just made my life harder for no reason. Without the Seroquel I’m on now, I would regularly slam from Hypomania into an absolutely car-crash phase of depression. The drugs have made that a non-issue so I can concentrate on unpicking the stitching of 14 years-worth of wrong thinking.

      Talk to your doctor, and if the doctor isn’t knowledgeable enough about brain diseases then ask to be referred to someone who is so that you can get to the bottom of this. Don’t just wait it out, life is too short. Make this your priority is my honest advice. Without this sorted the job, the relationship, the house, the car, the bank balance – none of it is worth anything in my opinion.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for the link! I read it quickly this morning before work, but need to re-read it (many times, I suspect), as it’s very detailed but I think will be very helpful! Thanks for passing it on! 🙂

    Like

  5. How did you get the extra followers?! WP self-hosted blogs have so many more tools than we .com folks do. I’d really love to know how to get a little bit of exposure.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      06/06/2014

      I just read LOADS of blogs and followed the ones that seemed interesting, people came back and checked me out and we spoke through comments.

      I also sat down and decided that I was going to increase the quality of my posts. Content and communication – that’s all I’ve got.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • Thanks. I write not because I want followers. I write because I must. However, you must admit that’s there’s a nice sense of validation that comes from having followers. And let me not get started on how I generally don’t get comments so it makes me really wonder if any of my followers really read my posts. Well, I’m glad that you found my blog which allowed me to find yours!

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          06/06/2014

          For me I’ve found that the majority of my satisfaction comes from the interaction and the comments that people leave. I’ve only been writing for a few months, but to have someone come and say :

          “Today I was depressed off my ass and this really helped”

          means in those few short months I’ve already done more worldly good than in the 5 years of my last job. I’ve become addicted to writing content that can help people. I know that some people won’t be putting words to a lot of their feelings – if I can do it FOR them or WITH them – I’m happy.

          Of the two I know which felt like better recompense when I’ve had to assess money vs doing good.

          I’m lucky in that I can currently do without a lot of things that other people label as requirements for a happy life. It means I can be mobile in a way that day-jobbers can’t. Ultimately when following your passion it seems that the main question is “What can you live without?”

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

          • It must be fate or something to do with the cosmos when it comes to having found your blog. I have no idea how you or most others stumble upon mine. I’m hoping to have the chance to read through a few more of your posts soon. However, from what I glean, we’re similar. I’ve actually struggled with depression practically all of my adult life. And most of my writing, specifically the poetry which I publish on my site, Melancholic Maladies are filled with very emotional themes and sad tones. I’m happy that you’re interacting with your readers. I more often than not feel that I’m writing for a party of one. Me. But I’m glad to put it out there.

            It’s surprising that you’ve only been writing a few months as it certainly doesn’t feel that way. Then again, maybe it also has to do with patina of it being so new and exciting!

            What I liked about the first article I read that you wrote was that it seemed like you were having both an internal conversation in addition to sharing it with your followers.

            Don’t get me wrong, I have gotten positive feedback and I also enjoy the opportunity to write bi-monthly for a print newspaper, but gaining more readers seems to elude me.

            I too have changed my career, my lot in life. After earning 5 college degrees I walked away from an over decade-long career and decided to pursue my passion and be my own boss. When I allow myself a moment of pause and consider the still substantial student loan debt that I have and the very little income I’ve generated, there are certainly moments where I think, wait a minute, what am I doing?! But then I go through these fugue states of productivity and I fall in love all over again with taking that leap. If you’ve written about your new passion and what you now live without, I would love to read it. Please direct me to the post. I discovered your blog and have been communicating thus far by steadily typing away with one finger on my iPhone (a device I assure you I couldn’t live without, LOL).

            It’s been great chatting with you!

            Liked by 1 person

  6. drheckleandmrjibe
    06/06/2014

    Well mobile phone is one thing I do without! I think I’ll write a list of what I live without actually, it might be interesting for some of you folks to read.

    I’ve tried to e-mail you, Latoya. If you don’t get the message just let me know and I’ll find another way of getting it to you.

    All the best,
    H&J

    Like

  7. Presence Matters
    07/06/2014

    Thank you for the work you do!! I am a new follower and truly enjoy what I have read so far. Thank you for taking time to read and like my posts – it is such a privilege to get to share such important thoughts and have them well-received. As someone who thought she was bipolar for quite some time, I have found that practicing presence and mindfulness has changes my entire existence. I found Michael Singer’s “The Untethered Soul” as a great starting point to help me disidentify from my mind and thoughts. 🙂

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      08/06/2014

      Thanks very much for taking the time to come and comment, and for the kind words 🙂

      Another book added to the “To Read” list!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  8. Peer to peer. Critical for coping and getting to where you need to go but cannot do alone. Essential!

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      09/06/2014

      Cheers for the kind words! I really liked your ‘stormchasing’ post.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • Ha! Thanks. I have no idea which one that was. I guess I’ll have to look it up. Fuck! I hate doing that.

        Cool.

        Hi.

        Like

        • drheckleandmrjibe
          10/06/2014

          Nah, I meant the one you wrote about how much you like thunder storms. It’s good to read pure, unadulterated enthusiasm. 🙂

          All the best,
          H&J

          Like

          • Guess what? I don’t remember it!!! I have to go find and read it. I really love this place. Good place to be if you want to communicate with other people on a smaller, more intimate scale. I’m really excited when I see that someone from the Congo read a piece of mine that day. I mean, how cool is that?

            Like

          • Wow. I had no idea where it was going. I thought I did. I really did. did. But I was wrong.

            Thanks for waking me up, Bipolar Bum!

            Like

      • I have no idea where my reply went! WeirdPress drives me crazy sometimes. Sorry.

        Hi.

        Like

      • I still have no idea what post you’re talking. I went through my index and apparently I wrote several pieces about storms. Plus, I can’t find my original something to you, asking you the question I posed above. Scattered!

        Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 02/06/2014 by in Milestones, Stable, Toon and tagged , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,325 hits

ARCHIVE

