The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

#KeepCalm

Keeping Calm is a large enough goal on its own.

Keeping Calm is a large enough goal on its own.

 

It is important to remember how badly your mind works when you’re in a mixed/agitated state.  You start to see attacks that aren’t there, your patience COMPLETELY abandons you and it is almost physically itchy just to try and stay in the same place and not do anything drastic.  Ride it out.  It is the only thing you can do that makes sense.  Take distractions if and wherever you can find them but don’t start trying to ‘fix’ yourself or the situation – you’ll only make more mess to clear up when you re-engage your gears with reality.

12 comments on “#KeepCalm

  1. Susan Irene Fox
    30/05/2014

    Thanks for this reminder. My mind automatically goes to confusion and chaos when I’m agitated; I forget that it’s the bipolar messing with my brain. Really. Thank you.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      30/05/2014

      Well if you’re the only person who reads it – it’s been worth writing 🙂 Really glad to have helped!

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  2. Definitely a good reminder, thank you! I can really relate to the fact of patience completely abandoning me….it’s at those times that I describe my frustration tolerance as being at absolute zero and just not being able to bear the situation I’m in….and last week I was feeling that almost everything that was happening at work was an indirect attack on me in some way….I love the drawing too 🙂 much better than the ‘keep calm and do X’ Tshirts/mugs etc!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      30/05/2014

      Thanks a lot for the kind words and the support. I remember those days in my old job, though I didn’t know I was ill at the time. I’m glad you’re on the far side of it!

      hmm, maybe I should start doing mugs and t-shirts! 😛 Haha

      All the best,
      H&J

      Liked by 1 person

  3. glenn2point0
    30/05/2014

    Yeo, indeed. Actions have consequences and the cleanup can become a big job.
    Having that insight is important.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mohenjo
    30/05/2014

    Reblogged this on James' World 2.

    Like

  5. Kitt O'Malley
    31/05/2014

    Yes, this too shall pass, but as you’ve mentioned in a previous post mixed states can be danngerous. Dangerous to think depressive or destructive negative thoughts and have the energy of mania or hypomania to follow through on those thoughts and impulses. Call you psychiatrist or go to ER if you might act on them. If you can maintain control over your impulses and ride the roller coaster in your mind, then ride it out. Still, doesn’t hurt to call you pdoc about temporarily adjusting medication dosages.

    Like

  6. thisisnotbangkok
    01/06/2014

    I have an anxiety disorder and these words make so much sense. Great post.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      01/06/2014

      Thanks very much! It’s interesting how much bleed there is between mood disorders. I can communicate pretty well with someone with an anxiety disorder. No doubt you could find a lot of common ground with someone who deals with Major Depressive Disorder. The first thing most of us exhibit is an absence of judgement or reservedness.

      Thanks a lot for stopping by 🙂 I like your latest shot of the government housing. It looks pretty forlorn and a bit sinister because of the trees.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

      • thisisnotbangkok
        02/06/2014

        Thanks so much. I really think the trees added the pop the photo needed to work.

        And I do agree with you here regarding our our absence of judgment. It is appalling how the common person just does not grasp anxiety and depression. In society, we are expected to act 100% at all times and this simply is not reality based.

        Take care and I will be back soon…

        Liked by 1 person

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 30/05/2014 by in Stable, Toon and tagged , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,325 hits

ARCHIVE

