The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Health

healthprimaryduty

#mentalhealth #oscarwilde #health #mentalillness

Next time you start over-reaching and risking overwhelming yourself think about what you’re doing it for.  Your mental health and wellbeing are the most important things to be protecting and nurturing.  Nothing else trumps your need to avoid empowering your illness.  Don’t lose sight of it!

 

All the best,

H&J

5 comments on “Health

  1. stockdalewolfe
    07/05/2014

    My biggest fault is overdoing things when I feel well. I run around like s chicken with my head cut off (awful), so thrilled to be doing what I had put off when sick. I get burned out, not a great job, but better than it was. And then, surprise, surprise, I crash and am sick again, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. drheckleandmrjibe
    07/05/2014

    The hardest thing for me on a real upswing was not to set myself 50,000 jobs, projects and tasks to do. When you feel invincible and you’re not really sleeping it feels as though you can do anything, twice. It’s tough to try and avoid over stretching without limiting what you COULD actually do. It’s a tightrope.

    H&J

    Like

  3. Kitt O'Malley
    13/05/2014

    So true, and something that I often must remind myself. Thank God I have a loving husband who prompts me to slow down and take it easy when he sees me overdoing it and ramping up.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      13/05/2014

      A supportive partner is absolutely invaluable. Even one who isn’t supportive can help. Your priority can be making them happy and that is a wonderfully rewarding distraction, as I recall.

      Glad for you, Kitt! 🙂
      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 07/05/2014 by in Quotes, Stable and tagged , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,804 hits

ARCHIVE

