The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

@stephenfry @worldbipolarday #worldbipolarday @bipolarworld @fmhisc @rethink_

#worldbipolarday #bipolar #bipolarbum #manicdepression #endmentalillnessstigma #mania #depression

 

#worldbipolarday - Get on board everyone.  Share, reblog and make noise!

#worldbipolarday – Get on board everyone. Share, reblog and make noise!

 

Bipolar: How to be in two places at once

Everywhere we go, we occupy two completely separate places.  One usually takes priority, emboldened by our current mental state, but nevertheless a person with Bipolar occupies two separate worlds.

 Think of it as two narratives being played out on speakers.  Periodically the volume shifts heavily from one to the other but you are left with the sometimes dreadful knowledge that it WILL oscillate at some point in the future.  Just acknowledging this can be a stressor in and of itself and many people with Bipolar require that they are CONSTANTLY vigilant observing their mental garden, and pulling out the weeds as  early as possible.

As white-hot, humming mania begins to recede I become anxious and pre-emptively disheartened at the potential of how low I may become within the next few days.  A tsunami of depression may be looming and I can do very little to combat it once it slams into my mental coast.

 I have to begin consciously combatting negative self-talk and my primary concern in life suddenly becomes defeating the backstabber in my mind who is intently trying to jump-start the process of rumination and self-loathing.

When manic, I am productive and it is difficult to disuade me from charging, bull-headed at almost every idea that I have.  I have begun to channel the mania with moderate success.

My depression is the polar opposite of this.  There are days periodically where I cannot function at what would be considered a healthy level.  With business decision making being what it is (informed almost purely by the bottom line) – This means that I am very unlikely to be able to hold down the nine to five, five days a week job.  As an employer would you set a person on who on average fails to functionat the most basic level for at least four days a month?

World Bipolar Day for me is about two things:

Trying to make people understand that this illness isn’t a lifestyle choice.  For many of us it becomes the thing that chooses our lifestyle for us, whether after initial diagnosis or permanently.  If someone you know is wrestling with Bipolar (and that isn’t over-stating the struggle) – Please take the time to try and understand that we don’t consciously decide to be up, down, both or neither.  The nature of this illness is that those sorts of choices are more or less absent from our box of tools for dealing with life.  Read up a little about the illness, it really is the least you could do for someone you care about.

The second and most important use we could have for World Bipolar Day is to encourage anyone with the SLIGHTEST suspicion that they may be dealing with this illness, at any level, to seek a diagnosis and treatment.  The statistics surrounding how common mental illness is make for unpleasant reading and there will be enough of them quoted today everywhere else.

All I will say to the great undiagnosed masses is :  This is not a choice.  You don’t choose, by being diagnosed, whether you are ill or not.  The only choice left to you is whether you will help yourself and anyone who cares about you by engaging this illness and attempting to limit its influence on your relationships, state of mind and future.  Bipolar Disorder is a life threatening illness.

If you heard of someone who was diabetic deciding thatdidn’t want insulin, would your opinion of their character be influenced?  Mine would.  I would think they were being ridiculous.  The same goes of someone electing to ignore mental illness or battle it without the available armaments.

Below is a link to the Bipolar test from The Black Dog Institute.  Take it, even if you don’t suspect yourself of illness.  It takes a minute or two at the most.  The thing to remember is that NOT everyone gets depressed.  NOT everyone has nihilistic thoughts.  It is true that a lot of the critereon leading to a Bipolar diagnosis might feature in the lives of healthy individuals.  Not ALL or MOST feature at the same time.

The last and probably most important thing for anyone WITHOUT a diagnosis to read is:

My worst psychosis is the belief (it feels like knowledge, like fact) that I cannot possibly be ill.  That I am just being self-indulgent.  That I am actually just a pathetic moron and that there are no anti-pathetic-moron pills out there that can fix me.  I have to directly challenge these thoughts as they arrive and it is exhausting.  If you are ill then not EVERY thought in your mind is your own.  Keep this in mind and keep your mind open to the possibility of being unwell, regardless of what your brain throws out at you.  The nature of this illness for me meant that I have spent my whole life avoiding a diagnosis because of a feature of the illness itself.

http://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/public/bipolardisorder/self-test.cfm

All the best my Bipolar brethren – and the same goes to anyone supporting us in this, sans illness!

H&J

7 comments on “@stephenfry @worldbipolarday #worldbipolarday @bipolarworld @fmhisc @rethink_

  1. stockdalewolfe
    29/03/2014

    Reblogged this on MOONSIDE.

    Like

  2. stockdalewolfe
    29/03/2014

    An excellent post. This is humbling. You express our lives so well. I thought I was two different people– didn’t realize I was living in two worlds.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. getfitwithlynds
    29/03/2014

    This is perfect. Living in 2 separate worlds.. Beyond true.

    Like

  4. Dawnny's Thoughts
    29/03/2014

    Very well written! Shared on my FB!

    Like

  5. robin1967
    30/03/2014

    Very we’ll said. No, being bipolar is not a choice… If I could undo being bipolar and go back to my prior “life”, I would in a heartbeat

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      30/03/2014

      I often wonder when my life stopped being the ‘normal’ one. Certainly there was at least a seven year period that I was Bipolar but thumping away at life as a mentally healthy person would do, wondering all the while why life wasn’t quite working for me.
      It could have been even longer; my teenage years were unusual enough that I’ve got absolutely no hope of trying to assess if I was mentally I’ll under the age of eighteen.

      I was on a collision course. Thank heavens I ran into someone who recognised the illness.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,440 hits

ARCHIVE

