The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Adam Boland, Medication and Side Effects

!!!WARNING!!! SIDE EFFECTS

!!!WARNING!!! SIDE EFFECTS

 

For those of you in Australia, tonight on Australian story is a piece about Adam Boland.  Yet another high profile, wealthy, successful member of society who has fought against the urge to self-destruct.  The powerful, rich and successful mentally ill brethren we have should provide all the evidence we need to combat the self-loathing thoughts or at least to weather the storm when they come on furore.  When you’re sat there thinking that you’re useless and that life is pointless; DO NOT for a second believe these thoughts have any basis in reality.  No matter what your situation, these thoughts are evidence only of the fact that you’re ill.

 

http://thehoopla.com.au/adam-boland-inner-fears/

 

When I was first confronted by the real possibility that I would need to be medicated I became obsessed with checking the side effects of every drug suggested to me.  One side effect stood out as particularly terrifying.  Perhaps somewhat predictably – Erectile dysfunction was this twenty seven year old male’s greatest fear.

 

I resisted medication for a time, and when I finally got onto a course of drugs – I was constantly tempted to abandon the process.  I do not know his reasons but Adam Boland abandoned his medication, and regretted it.  Almost unanimously the people that I’ve read about and spoken to have regretted abandoning a course of medication before having a serious dose come to full term.

 

The one side effect that a paranoid, mentally ill person will never fixate on is by far the most important.  That being, wellness.  The ultimate side effect to any medication that you will be prescribed is that it will give you the possibility to be well for longer.

 

There is no quick fix and we rarely get on the right drug/dose first time.  Unless you’re going to sit and say “my brain chemistry is unique among human beings, it does not run along the same lines as any other person’s” – then there is a drug and a dosage that will help you with your illness.

 

Stick it out, and make demands of your doctor.  Inform them clearly how you are feeling, as your feedback is the only data they have to work with.

 

The Black Dog Institute have detailed .PDFs on the different medications for different illnesses.  Knowing what the medications are designed to do will help you work with your doctor to establishing the correct treatment for your individual needs.

 

http://www.blackdoginstitute.org.au/index.cfm

 

Read about more than the side effects and become literate in the means to make yourself well.  You know your body better than any third party, regardless of their qualifications.

 

All the best,

H&J

7 comments on “Adam Boland, Medication and Side Effects

  1. DysthymiaBree
    24/03/2014

    You know what? After a series of hellish medication changes last year (thanks for the extra 30kg, medications bloke) I just said to him: “Can we please go back to the medication regime I was on before we started fiddling about?” And guess what? It worked! Seriously, it’s absolutely OK to assert yourself with psychiatrists. Even if they do get a little huffy sometimes 🙂

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/03/2014

      We are the ultimate arbiters of which medication is working for us. Currently there aren’t any conclusive brain-chemistry tests available and so the doctors can only go from where we put them with our descriptions. I know that I personally, especially in the grip of depression, aren’t necessarily the most erudite of thinkers/speakers. A doctor may go off on a tangent because of a misunderstanding I am responsible for.

      You’re 100% right that you can and SHOULD take charge of your medication. If there is anything you are struggling to understand about your medication, ask the doctor. This is where they can really help you. The clearer your understanding of your own meds, the better you can help yourself.

      Perhaps it is because I come from a cynical part of the world but I can’t help but think that NO ONE out there has a vested interest in seeing me get well. I’m the only person who really WANTS to make myself well enough for it to count.

      Great to hear that you sorted your meds out. As someone currently gaining weight while I try and adjust to life being medicated I can feel your pain! You can always lose weight though. It is worth it.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  2. eddieredvine
    25/03/2014

    I’m looking at a possible medication change unfortunately as I need to choose between physical and mental health… I have to admit some of the side effects listed are surprising to say the least…

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/03/2014

      Hi Eddie,

      I’ve been lucky in the med dept. I’ve not had to walk the tightrope and balance side effects versus mental health very much at all. I was put on meds that made me swing violently into the deepest, darkest depression in recent years, and my description of this let the doctor know that we were headed in exactly the WRONG direction.

      Stick it out. Playing the balancing act with meds that you KNOW work for your mental health is at least encouraging in that you know medication works. That belief can’t ever be shaken now. I’m sure that you will find an alternative with less severe/no obvious manifestations of side effects.

      The ultimate side effect that I was on the look-out for was ‘Survival’ and thankfully the Quetiapine delivered.

      All the best,
      H&J

      Like

  3. Love this post. Thank you for educating, and encouraging people to stick with the quest for the right medications.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      25/03/2014

      Getting the right meds is probably the single most important thing I’ve ever done in my life!

      Thanks for the support!
      H&J

      Like

Have your say

Information

This entry was posted on 24/03/2014 by in Depressed, Medication, Toon and tagged , , , , , , , .
Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,030 hits

ARCHIVE

