The Bipolar Bum

Backpacking and Bipolar II. Taking Manic Depression on tour.

Struggling to shake this one off

My mood seems to keep elevating a little bit before I go to bed but when I wake up in the morning I am back to square one.  I have no reason to feel stressed or worn out but here I am.  I’m kicking against negative self talk pretty much constantly, and it is exhausting.

 

I’d love to hear from any of you who have serious ruminations about how you lower the volume or obliterate them completely.  I repeat to myself that they aren’t real, but the more energy I have the more layers of negative thought there are to try and dispose of.  The best thing I can hope for is utter exhaustion, but then the rest of the symptoms of depression get worse and I lose more time.

 

Come at me, what do you do when your head noise starts up?

H&J

7 comments on “Struggling to shake this one off

  1. DysthymiaBree
    15/03/2014

    I don’t fight it. I use a technique I learnt from Russ Harris in “The Happiness Trap” – acknowledge that my mind is a thought generator which is always on, say “thanks, mind!” for the distressing or unhelpful thought, and choose to focus my attention elsewhere. It takes practice, but it works for me.

    Like

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      15/03/2014

      Thats an interesting method. Previously when I’ve not combatted these thoughts they very quickly grow eight sets of legs and begin running around at the speed of light. Invariably a few hours later I’ve become stressed and depressed without really knowing the full reason why. I can sometimes trace it back enough to know it was when I ignored a damaging thought pattern though. I’ll have to try more of a stoic approach and see how I go I suppose

      Like

      • DysthymiaBree
        15/03/2014

        I think the Harris method works for me because you’re not denying the thought – you’re changing your attitude to it. The mind is perceived as a “storyteller”, but like all storytellers, each story does not have equal validity. By acknowledging the existence of the thought, but by not seeing it as an intrinsic part of yourself (it’s just one of many thoughts your mind produces), you rob it of its power.
        Works for me, anyway … if you’re interested in this concept, I suggest you look up some of Harris’s work, or other ACT (acceptance and commitment therapy) authors. Very helpful!

        Like

  2. whenwemumble
    15/03/2014

    You’re not alone. It’s nice you’ve found a release in blogging. Keep it up! Be sure to read other peoples posts as I’ve found it nice to know you’re not alone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • drheckleandmrjibe
      15/03/2014

      Thanks a lot. I’ve been reading as much as I can too. You’re right about there being sanity in numbers!

      Like

      • whenwemumble
        15/03/2014

        No problem! I read more of your blog, great job.

        Liked by 1 person

Have your say

Follow The Bipolar Bum on WordPress.com

How we're doing.

  • 25,030 hits

ARCHIVE

